To jump, or not to jump. That is the question

 

ffxiv_07082016_205140

Ranger Bombing. The new photo-bombing in Final Fantasy XIV.

 

Okay random picture aside it’s something I don’t really talk about outside of a few people that don’t game, but I can talk to about anything. But lately it’s something that’s been on my mind for awhile and I just feel like I need to type it out and attempt a discussion…and do my Blaugust schedule, because Work is killer and I’ve been dying lately and I need a topic. Hah.

For someone who resides in the UK, but frequents the NA servers of many games, I’m met with my fair share of struggles. Time zones would be the biggest one. Fun GREY encounters are every Tuesday at like 6PM …EST? while it’s going to be 1 in the morning for myself, going on for a couple of hours and suddenly my sleep schedule is shot because I drank two bucket loads of tea and I’m up all night XD.

The other is lag, but I’m not really fussed about that unless the game is really twitch-reflex. Like Call of Duty or a shooter that requires fast thinking and faster reflexes.

I’ve said it multiple times and shall continue to sing it to the high heavens, GREY is my second family. If it weren’t for them who knows what would have happened? They’ve supported my in…their own strange ways but most notably was during the time I was still mourning (and still am to this day) my mothers passing. The amount of support and kindness they had shown during that period was so appreciated.  and I don’t think i ever thanked any of them.

So going slightly off topic here. TO every single one of you who is in GREY in XIV. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you for putting up with my nonsensical nonsense, the times that I’ve been too depressed to do anything and the times that I’ve surely, gotten on your nerves.
Thank you for helping me be the person I am today, the advice giver when I needed a helping hand, and the ear to talk to when I just needed to vent. I’m not going to name names. Because everyone helped, and you all deserve equal praise and my heartfelt love.

 

Which pains me to even think about jumping ships to an EU server. I’ve had a few people nod me into a few EU centric guilds, or multi-game guilds lately and it’s stupid that I’m looking into them at the moment. It’s like a slap in the teeth to their kindness and what they’ve done for me.  They ARE like a family to me, a family, however, that I struggle to see daily unless I’m up at silly hours, or they are up at silly hours. Health-wise, it’s probably not the greatest thing to do. It’s hard to consider jumping ship, but I’m not the type to not think about the pros of doing so either.

Doing so would enable me to join in with a bunch of people for events that are relatively decent time wise. I could spend more time doing said events and doing more of the end-game casually or hard-core (depending on where I go.)

I’m really unsure on what to do, yet at the same time I’m afraid of even asking for fear that the simple suggestion may give them reason to doubt. Which is why I’m typing this up, as an indirect way of saying “I’m thinking about this.”

 

As someone who resides in the UK, it’s hard to join into NA communities for the reasons I say above. I frequent plenty of streamers on Twitch, many of the USA based, which makes it hard to join in any events unless they are like a few people I know and they stream all day on their end, giving me a few hours to join in if I so chose to.Many of my friends are USA or canada or around that area too. For myself, it’s both a blessing and a curse and at times I ponder if I should have just been an American. (But then how the hell would I survive when I’m barely holding on here)

The next few days are going to be an interesting one. If I decide to move or not is something that no doubt I’ll be thinking about alot.

Listen to one of my favourite anime openings ever. Like seriously. I love this, but then, when it’s animated by the same folks behind Unlimited Budget works, it’s hard to not love it.

EDIT: wrong video, that’s the issue when watching videos and writing XD

Leave a Reply

